ANN'S VILLA sits quietly at the foot of the Zuurberg Pass filled with countless years of history exuding a magical peacefulness. Surrounded by mountains, birdsong and skies that couldn’t possibly hold any more stars, it is what dreams are made of. Pure heaven on earth! One breath of this pure delight will steal your heart away! Discover her secrets; her history. Stories of the Websters and the Halls and many more who would find themselves intertwined with this grand old gem. From the 1864 Inn itself, the 1780’s cottage, schoolhouse, registered blacksmith museum, original old shop and post office, to the shed with its sprung floor where locals danced the starry night away, to the endless mountain views, opportunity abounds at Ann’s Villa. Whether you build on its reputation as a secret gem or choose to expand into new avenues Ann’s Villa will bring you a unique lifestyle. With its ample furnished accommodation and palpable history you will buy into a welcome refuge from the hustle and bustle of modern life. It’s all there -history, nature & the most brilliant star lit sky and so much more. A Provincial Heritage Site, don’t miss this opportunity to own this incredible most precious treasure of a property! We're not selling just a property, this is a lifestyle, and the perfect place to set up a shop.
Water is from a borehole and rain water tanks. Eskom throughout. Geysers are solar electric. The area around the buildings (+- 2 hectares) has a 1.8 m electric fence to keep the wild life (monkeys, baboon, kudu etc.) out.
In its 159 years Ann's Villa has witnessed some of the defining moments in the history of South Africa. The spread of British rule into the interior, the discovery of diamonds, the development of railways and
the Anglo-Boer war are all events that this grand old lady has been a part of. Built shortly after the dreadful Zuurberg Pass was completed in 1855, Ann's Villa was designed to accommodate and service
exhausted ox wagon traffic at the inland end of the pass. The inn was erected for the Webster family whose father John had given up his bakery in PE to establish a bakery at the Villa. The Websters bought the farm from a Mr Grobbelaar and they lived in the cottage which was built by him and which was known variously as Bergview cottage and Verbena cottage. It still stands and is the oldest building on the property. It was added onto by the Websters who established a blacksmith and a bakery in the cottage. The bakery was used to make bread which was delivered to the workers building the Zuurberg Pass whilst the blacksmith was established as a vital service at the foot of the pass for all the wagons which needed repair after struggling over one of the longest mountain passes in South Africa. When the Villa was built a general dealer shop was included in the main building and in 1864 the little hamlet was opened to the public. A schoolhouse was built a few years later to accommodate local children. Diamonds were discovered in 1867 and the traffic into the interior of South Africa increased enormously. The Villa had a brief period of great success and then decline as the railway, completed in 1890 from PE to the interior severely reduced the carriage traffic. The Villa was repositioned as a place where families could come to relax and enjoy the healthy Karoo air. When the Anglo Boer war broke out in 1898 it seemed as though the Villa would never be affected as it was so far from the scene of the conflict. The Zuurberg Pass however became the furthest point south that the war spread to. The Colonial Defence Force (CDF) had a camp in the hills behind the villa as well as redoubts scattered across the Zuurberg. The Hall family, who were resident at the time, had a hair-raising experience hiding under the dining room table following a battle about 30 km away, when a group of Boer soldiers raided the farm and stole horses and supplies from the shop. The Halls were the last full time residents at the Villa up until the 1960s. It became a holiday home for the family, until they sold it to a distant relative in the 1960s. It became a feeding station for livestock whilst the buildings were locked up and left uninhabited.
On the cusp of decay the farm was bought in the 1990s by its present owners, and the restoration of the villa began in 2000. In 2004 it was reopened as accommodation for travellers (modern day trekkers). The Villa has barely changed in appearance since it first opened in 1864, but nowadays visitors come over the Olifantskop Pass on the national road and can enjoy flushing toilets, hot showers and their own comfortable bedrooms.